Going Bananas

Banana Bread  IngredientsIs there anything better than warm, gooey banana bread right out of the oven?

I love banana bread, but always have trouble waiting for bananas to go soft enough to use in baking. I’m actually like that with most food – if it’s there, I’ll eat it. So when I saw a bunch of almost-black bananas on sale for 50 cent in the supermarket, I got very excited. “Look, Rory, old fruit!” No wonder he thinks I’m mad.

This is my go-to recipe for basic, no-nonsense banana bread. I’ve adapted it from Dysart’s Cookbook (which I highly recommend, but that’s a story for another time). If you’re feeling fancy you could add cinnamon, nuts or even raisins.

Ingredients:

150g (3/4 cups) sugar

50g (1/4 cups) margarine

1 egg

190g (1.5 cups) flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

4 – 5 over ripe bananas, mashed. If your bananas are rather large, use 4. If your fruit is of the daintier description, use 5.

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 Celsuis if you’re in Europe or 350 Fahrenheit if you’re in North America.

2. Find a medium-sized mixing bowl. Go on, I’ll wait. Ok, ready? Right. Dump the sugar and margarine into the bowl before cracking in an egg. Cream together using a wooden spoon or electric mixer. I prefer wooden spoons because I don’t have a dishwasher and find it impossible to clean the tiny gooey bits from the whisks when I’m done. Someday…

3. This is the fun bit. Peel your bananas slowly while humming the below:

4. Wasn’t that fun? Now, mash the bananas in another bowl and add slowly to the creamed mixture, stirring as you go.

IMG_1632

5. Sift the flour into your mixture and add the baking soda and a pinch of salt and stir well. Your mixture should look moist and gooey. Pour into the pre-greased loaf tin.

IMG_1633

6. Now, just throw it in the oven for about 50 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when the exterior gets dark – but stick a knife in it just to be sure.
IMG_1637
My one quibble about this recipe is that the exterior gets very dark, not at all like the nice golden brown you get with other recipes. But on the other hand, it stays moister than any other recipe I’ve followed.
IMG_1638

So there it is! Beautifully gooey banana bread to enjoy with a nice cup of tea.

-Nicole

One thought on “Going Bananas

  1. Pingback: Banana Almond Chocolate Bread | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

